The Best Postpartum Products You Need To Know About

0M0A6064When I had my baby just a few months ago, I was so glad that I had most of these products on hand and ready to go. I hope that this list is helpful to you if you are an expectant mom! All of the links in this post will direct you to products that were actually helpful to me. I am not paid for any of these reviews.

Bathrobe–I am not the kind of person to lounge around the house in a bathrobe, but I was so glad that I had a good and thick one on hand when I had my daughter. Bathrobes are great for new moms because they are easy to nurse in but also easy to pull closed at a moment’s notice if guests arrive. Bring one to the hospital to wear over those flimsy gowns.

Nursing nightgown or nursing bra to sleep in– This is the one product on this list that I did not buy, and I greatly regret it. When we first brought our daughter home from the hospital, my milk supply was very overreactive. I remember waking up in a puddle every night for a week or two, and I bet you can picture how unpleasant that was. Save yourself some grief and just get a good nursing bra or nursing nightgown.

Nursing Pads– I really, really appreciated my nursing pads. They saved me from many an embarrassing moment. I bought two different brands and this cheaper one ended up being my favorite. The pads that I didn’t like as much can be found here. They did the job well, but were a bit itchy.

Rosewater & Witch HazelI love rosewater so, so much. I use it to set my makeup, freshen up after a workout, and soften my hair when it gets frizzy. Witch hazel is an even more helpful and versatile product. I used both of these ingredients to make a great postpartum spray before I had my daughter. Mix two parts rosewater (or lavender water) and one part witch hazel together in a spray bottle and bring it to the hospital with you. Use this spray bottle to freshen your face, neck, back, and hair both during and after labor. My hospital made me wait over 12 hours until my first post-labor shower, and this spray helped me to feel clean while I waited. This spray also eased my engorgement pain more than anything else I tried. In addition, witch hazel is wonderful for diaper rashes, cuts, and postpartum eczema or acne. I use this spray as a facial toner/moisturizer now and my skin has never felt fresher. In a pinch, this spray can go on a postpartum pad if you run out of Dermoplast or witch hazel pads.

Lavender essential oil– This is the least necessary product on this list, but I included it because it was a tiny little luxury that made me feel fresh and feminine during those first few weeks postpartum. I would encourage you to find something comparable that will make you feel special, clean, and pretty. It will really help your mood!

Earth Mama Angel Baby spray or Earth Mama Angel Baby balm– I used both of these products and appreciated them, but it was overkill to use them together. I ended up using the spray most of the time because it was quick and easy, but the balm was great, too. It just depends on your preference. No need to buy both of them, though. And only buy one jar or bottle–it’s unlikely that you’ll use all of it up before you heal.

Earth Mama Angel Baby nipple butter– This is possibly the best product on this list, tied with Red raspberry leaf tea. I used this butter religiously in the hospital, and only got one blister while I was learning to nurse. In my experience, it is also great for cradle cap, intertrigo, and baby acne. Only buy one jar, though. I’ve applied it almost every day for the past three months and still haven’t used half of it yet.

Witch hazel pads– These little pads (often called Tucks pads) are so wonderful and great for pain relief. I didn’t buy any because my hospital provided me with a big tub of them. I hope your hospital is as generous as mine was.

Dermoplast– Again, this was a product provided by my hospital, so I didn’t have to buy it. I would describe it as the non-organic version of the Earth Mama Angel Baby spray or balm. If you are on a tight budget, I would recommend that you buy the Dermoplast over Earth Mama Angel Baby. It’s not organic, but it does a much more effective job of relieving postpartum pain. Of course, if you have the money for both products, they work great together.

Peri Bottle– This was yet another product provided by my hospital. To me, it is an absolute essential for postpartum recovery. A little warm water in this thing goes a long way towards making you feel better. Once you’re all healed up, you can give it a new life as a squirt bottle for moistening cloth baby wipes (which are so much better, cheaper, and easier than disposable wipes, by the way!).

Red raspberry leaf tea– To me, this tea is the Holy Grail of postpartum products. The trick is to start drinking it well before you deliver your baby. I started drinking RRL (as it’s called) at the beginning of my third trimester and my only regret is that I didn’t start drinking it sooner. RRL does an amazing job of strengthening your body for labor and has the ability to make birth easier, faster, and less painful. My first labor lasted a mere eight hours, and I credit this tea for making it such a quick and bearable experience. I also drank it a few weeks postpartum, and it really helped me to spring back to my normal self. Of course, do some research before consuming it. And don’t just read other people’s reviews–look for articles and medical studies from trusted sources.

Best wishes to you, new mom! You were made to do this!

0M0A6105-2

Photo credit goes to Sarah at Sliver of Eternity Photography.

SaveSave

One thought on “The Best Postpartum Products You Need To Know About

Leave a comment